The Liebster Award

Hi guys welcome to another post and this one is super exciting because I’ve been nominated by TooChineseForU to receive the Liebster Award! TooChineseForU is a blog run by Tyra Skinner all about her serious love for Asian culture! I loved having a look through her blog seeing some fantastic photos and reading some great posts about travelling!

Being nominated feels so great as it is an award created by bloggers for bloggers. By nominating a blogger they automatically are recognised as winning the Liebster award! There is a very detailed post about the Liebster Award over on WordingWell Blog. I read all about the award on WordingWell and found the post very useful, check it out especially if you have been nominated by me!

The Rules:

  • Answer the questions you were asked
  • Tag 11 people who have under 200 Twitter followers  *adding OR Facebook followers OR Email subscribers
  • Create 11 new questions
  • Recognise who tagged you

liebster-awards-award-afro-glory-natural-hair-blogger

Q1. What’s the purpose behind your blog?

Afro Glory’s purpose is to bring positivity, interesting topics and knowledge to all who are interested. It is as simple as that. I want to share everything I am learning/ have learnt on my natural hair journey whilst also expressing myself and experiences as a black British woman.

Q2. How did you come up with your blog name?

Haha well I wanted something that spoke for itself and that represented me. I am proud to be black and I am proud to have an afro. I wanted to celebrate that through my blog name. Afro Glory to me is that feeling when you finish your hair and you are just caught up in it’s beauty… in it’s glory.

Q3. If you had a time-machine, what would you say to “10-year-ago” you? Any advice?

Wow big question… there is so much I would want to tell a 10-year-old me but at the same time I wouldn’t want to change a thing. Everything in my life has led me to this point of happiness and a real understanding of self-worth. I think I would just give myself a hug and tell 10-year-old me that she is beautiful. I would tell her that there is no such thing as a beauty standard, everyone is beautiful so don’t try to tick other people’s imaginary boxes.

Q4. Besides blogging, what else do you like to do?

I love to design! As well as being a natural hair blogger I am a qualified graphic designer.  I have a masters in GD and a GD job but even when I’m not working I am designing! Communication is what attracted me to GD and now more than ever before I have a message so I’m really enjoying the fact that I can effectively and visually communicate it. I also love to travel as much as I can. Travelling is always an eye-opening experience. I love knowing  how other cultures live… it’s just fascinating!

Q5. Your favorite book?

Hmmm… I literally have LOADS of books! When I met my boyfriend (who also has LOADS of books) one of our first joint purchases was our bookcase (which is too small now) so picking one book just feels impossible! I’m going to cheat a bit and pick an author and it obviously has to be Maya Angelou ❤️

Q6. Which fictional character do you relate to the most?

This is going to be a bit of a weird answer but I most relate to the Na’vi from Avatar. It’s one of my favourite films and I love how intouch with everything they are! I wish I could be one of the Na’vi people! lol

Q7. Name 2 short term goals for your blog and 1 long term goal.

Short term goal 1: Begin a better routine. I want to be more consistent with how often I’m posting and for me the answer to that is being more organised and creating a routine.

Short term goal 2: Connect with more bloggers. Blogging is definitely not a solo venture and I really would love to build up a network of blogger friends this year. I’ve already met some incredible people through blogging and I don’t want that to stop!

Long term goal: To celebrate 10 years of Afro Glory 😉🙌🏾 that will be an incredible achievement! I know it’s just 1 but I also want to get Afro Glory Design up and finish setting up my Etsy account.

Q8. What are your top 3 travel destinations?

Easy… Jamaica is my paradise, New York is my city & Japan is my curiosity! I love going to Jamaica and even though I wasn’t born there I consider it home. New York is one of the most creative and inspiring cities I’ve ever been in! I absolutely loved it there and am just itching to get back! And finally Japan!!! I’ve never been but I really would love to discover Japan and all it has to offer.

Q9. Choose a color to describe you and explain why you chose it.

Orange is my favourite colour. I would like to think orange is the colour that best represents me. It can be bright, warm, fun and goes great with my skin! Also it’s constant in all the season: pumpkins in autumn, oranges at Christmas, flowers in spring and sunshine in summer!

Q10. What food or drink do you hate the most?

Liquorice… it is the worst!

Q11. Is there a particular skill you would really like to have?

I would love to be able to code! I think at some point I will go down the route of learning some coding in order to maintain an awesome Afro Glory website! I’ve seen loads of great free online resources for learning so I don’t have any excuses really!

liebster-awards-award-afro-glory-natural-hair-blogger

Q1. What is your favourite quote and what does it mean to you?

Afro Glory: The journey of a thousands miles starts with one step – Lao Tzu. I love this quote because it reminds me that when I have a goal or a dream and I don’t feel like it’s working out… I shouldn’t give up! Everyone and every great idea started from the beginning. Just like my blog, it started as an idea and here I am 6 months later still taking steps on this great journey.

Q2. What has been your favourite blogging moment so far?

Afro Glory: There have been some fantastic moments for me as a blogger! I have been to some amazing events and met some great people. Even though Afro Glory is only 6 months old I feel like there have been countless fantastic and notable moments. One of my favourite was being accepted as press for AFROPUNK London!

Q3. Which blogger would you like to work with in a collaboration and why? (tag them so they know)

Afro Glory: Hmm tough question because there are so many people I would love to work with but at the moment I am really keen to do a collaboration with @saabirahlblog she has been inspiring me since day 1! I was very fortunate to connect with her at the first ever Black British Bloggers Social in June. I hope to meet a lot more people I’ve connected with online at the next event!

Q4. What is your favourite meal?

Afro Glory: I love food! maybe too much sometimes but I have to say my favourite meal is a delicious home cooked curry goat with rice & pea! My mums food is just the best and I definitely have her to thank for my love of food! If you follow my personal instagram you will just see food haha! @shahiraallen

Q5. You’ve won an all expenses paid trip for 2 weeks to a travel destination of your choice! Where would you go?

Afro Glory: I would be jetting off to Japan for 2 weeks to eat in all the amazing cuisine and see all the amazing unique features! I would make sure it was the right time of year for sakura because who wouldn’t want to experience cherry blossom in full bloom!? This would be my dream holiday tbh! I’m just so curious about Japanese culture!

Q6. What motivates you to blog?

Afro Glory: There are a few things that motivate me to blog but I would say the main one is knowing that I can help people with my knowledge and skills! Wether its natural hair, gaining a client who needs a logo, recommending a place to go in London, sharing my experiences at events or comforting someone with a mental health illness. I have always been a caring and social person so blogging is a way for me to communicate with you all and that is motivation enough!

Q7. You have just met a PR manager looking for new bloggers just like you! They are in a hurry though! Summarise your blog in 1 sentence:

Afro Glory: Afro Glory is a blog to create awareness of black British culture through sharing my natural hair journey and adventures!

Q8. What is your mantra? (if you don’t have one what would you like it to be?)

Afro Glory: My mantra is something very personal, very positive and vey simple: ‘You’re okay’. I like to repeat this when I’m feeling anxious about ANYTHING. By repeating my mantra I am able to create a sense of calm and it allows me think clearly and rationally.

Q9. Tell me 3 things you love about yourself:

Afro Glory: I LOVE MY HAIR! I love that I am kind! I love that I am ambitious.

Q10. Recommend a book.

Afro Glory: If you haven’t read Girl Boss by Sophia Amoruso then I highly recommend it! Its a real story… I mean that in the sense that it literally starts from the beginning of her journey to becoming a successful business owner with all the not so pretty parts too. When I read Girl Boss (for the first time) it did 3 great things for me:

  • Motivated me to follow my passions
  • Encouraged me to work hard to reach my goals
  • Offered me a new perspective on how to deal with obstacles

Q11. You can have 1 hour on the phone to ANYONE! Who are you going to call?

I love this question because my mind just went wild with possibilities! In the end I narrowed it down though. I would love to spend an hour on the phone to Rosa Parks. She is a huge inspiration to me and it would be a honour to speak to one of the most influential people in the 21st century! Just an average woman who like so many of us just had enough… her actions on 01/12/1955 have changed all our lives. It would be such an honour.

liebster-awards-award-afro-glory-natural-hair-blogger

Jenisallwrite @crankycoily

Taran Got The Juice @TaranGotthaJuzz

Kinkyamiee @B_shuga_shuga

Natural Beauty @hairntheclouds

Dope Girl @luvmafro

Najwa Yasir @NaturallyNajwa

Coming2uCurly @Cree8hair

‘Cisca Moja @ciscakinks

Vanessa J. @iamvanessaj

OlenaRosanne @OlenaRosanne

Adriana Fleury @AdrianaSFleury

 

Thanks for reading! Don’t forget to tag me in your posts my nominees! I am really looking forward to seeing your answers!

Please check out my other platforms 🙌🏾👍🏾

Instagram: http://instagram.com/afroglory_

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AfroGlory_

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AfroGloryBlog/

Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/afroglory_/

 

5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Giiiirl! I’m so happy I got to get to know you through these questions! I was loving everything, especially your fictional character choice and your love for our African roots! I find it hilarious you don’t like licorice. I don’t like it as much, only the sour ones!

    Japan is A M A Z I N G! It’s clean, weird, colorful, cute, and the people are extremely nice! Next time you want to come to Asia, you can come visit me in China!

    Let’s keep in touch!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha 😂 I really enjoyed answering them! The fictional character one was quite hard for me to answer actually! Then I remembered how much I love avatar and wish I was a Na’vi girl lol! It’s the dream Halloween costume!

      If I am ever in China I will definitely drop you a message! You can be my guide 😂 I’m clueless on Asia culture (apart from the food)!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you sooooo much Afro Glory for the Nomination. I this means a lot because I am a beginner, and it seems impossible to get people to subscribe to my blog. I believe this will help me and others bloggers as well. I’m so happy to be apart of this. I just love it when Queens Support Queens! Thank you again!

    Like

  3. I want to thank you so much Afro Glory for nominating me, you just inspired me to strive much at creating new post and writing more, i hope this helps me as a beginner, and help me get more subscribers…thanks again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

