London-bubbles-tae-modern-afro-glory

Since Moving to London

I moved to London in June 2016 with my boyfriend Joe. We have officially lived here for 1 year and 1 month on the 27th of July! We moved here for work (and food).

What have I done with my time in London so far?

Before we moved to London I couldn’t stop thinking about what amazing opportunities I would find as a graphic designer and how much fun it would be to live in the city. When I moved to the city I was struggling with mental health issues (you can read my post about it here:Β I have PTSD…) and we didn’t know anyone except family… so my first points of call were finding a job, making some new friends and improving my health.

Within 1 week of moving to London I managed to find a job through the ‘Jobs Today’ app which was advertised all over the tube. 24 hours to find a job just felt too good to be true but it wasn’t. I managed to find a job as a barista in a quirky little cafe in Shoreditch, I worked there for 6 months. I met some amazing people in my first London job and have kept in touch with them even today.

I handed my notice in at this job after 6 months because I realised that I had become so comfortable I was no longer pursuing my graphic design career. I made a decision that on returning to London after Christmas in Yorkshire, I would make every effort to get my foot in the design door and concentrate on finally following my dreams.

I was about half way through therapy at this point and was steadily recovering and building confidence in myself again. My therapy ended in February but before it ended I had been advised to find a way to self manage my mental health. I really had no idea how I was going to do this… until I final found an opportunity.

My love for Instagram has taken me to new levels! Through instagram I found an advertisement for a design intern with The Lovely Drawer, an independent design studio based in London. In February 2017 I began my internship and I am still currently working with Teri at TLD and loving it! I can’t tell you how much I have progressed in skill and ambition since working with TLD.

At the same time as finding this opportunity I discovered blogging! I had already began to feel the strain of no longer attending therapy so I discovered blogging at the perfect time. Afro Glory was born in February 2017. Through blogging I’ve discovered a way to talk about positivity, culture, natural hair, London, events… and many other wonderful things I can share with you. Blogging keeps me motivated to do interesting things and helps me meet loads of ambitious and interesting people.

For me, moving to London and making the most of being in this incredible city started in January 2017 when I made some decisions about where I wanted to go and stuck to my plan. I made a plan that didn’t restrict me and has allowed me to just naturally progress without the pressures of failing.

2017 has been incredible so far and I feel like I have completely changed my outlook since moving to London. I have been able to meet some amazing people through blogging, improve my skills through gaining an internship, rediscovered my creativity, become more organised and really started to enjoy my life again.

So… in short the answer to my earlier question: what have I done with my time in London so far? I have simply learnt to enjoy my life again!

 

Thanks for reading!

Please check out my other platforms πŸ™ŒπŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎ

Instagram: http://instagram.com/afroglory_

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AfroGlory_

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AfroGloryBlog/

Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/afroglory_/

5 thoughts on “Since Moving to London

  1. I’m glad you’ve settled in so well! I’ve just finished uni and I’m moving
    to back to London permanently. It’s weird being back but I’m enjoying it and trying to meet new people too! What inspired you to start your blog?

    Like

    1. Hi Sinachi, Thank you for your comment. Where did you go to uni? I was actually born in London but moved away when I was 8 years old. I think whenever we return to London it’s changed so much it can be intimidating but you will settle in soon πŸ™‚ I was inspired to start blogging when my therapist told me I needed to find a way to self manage my mental health. I used blogging as a way to stay positive and concentrate on the good things in life. What inspired you to start a blog?

      Like

      1. I went to DMU in Leicester. I agree, I’ve just gotten used to the hustle and bustle again. Leicester is quite calm compared to London. I have always loved watching YouTube channels but I didn’t want to be in front of a camera. I discovered the world of blogging and haven’t looked back since. I started off wanting to express my personal style but now I talk about my personal experiences in the hopes that I can inspire people to live life on their own terms πŸ˜ƒ

        Like

Leave a Reply

