DSLR-Canon-Camera-EOS1200d-black-flash-photography

Canon EOS 1200D: Getting to grips

Well I didn’t buy this camera, believe it or not I won it, ending my streak of ‘I’ve never won anything’.

I didn’t just enter a competition and win though… that would have been much easier. Whilst studying on the Peter Jones Enterprise and Entrepreneurship course in my home town at Kirklees College, myself and four others entered into a marketing pitch competition with Jessops and Canon. WE WON!

The first prize was a canon eos 1200d for each team member or a digital canon camera (I’m not sure which one). When we were all presented with our DSLR’s we were over the moon! We couldn’t believe we had come that far as a team and as an academy. The only problem was I didn’t know how to use it. πŸ€·πŸΎβ€β™€οΈ

This all happened around the time that Joe and I became an official couple 😊 (January 2015) so when I won and didn’t know anything about my camera Joe was keen to help. For Valentine’s Day that year I got a Β£600 photograph course in London with a photographer who had work displayed in the national portrait gallery. 😱 I was completely in shock that Joe had spent so much money to encourage a hobby I had developed mainly due to just winning a camera. I told him to get his money back because I didn’t even know how to use the camera it would have been a total waste.

Two years later and I still don’t know how to use my camera! The shame haha πŸ˜‚! (and Joe constantly reminds me about that time he got me a really expensive awesome gift and I didn’t want it… hold a grudge much πŸ˜‚)

Starting a blog and seeing all the amazing photography happening has really encouraged me to get to grips with my DSLR. I’m starting to discover things like aperture, shutter speed, lighting and how it all affects the outcome of an image.

I’ve also started listening to podcasts which has really boosted my desire to be creative. I hear all of these amazing creative people just talking about how important it is to pursue your dreams and get stuck in. One of the podcasts I listen to isΒ Hashtag AuthenticΒ and the post:Β The Power Of Personal Projects, With Xanthe BerkeleyΒ has definitely inspired me to pick my camera back up and learn how to use it in creative mode.

Xanthe talks about how she got better at photography by taking on personal projects and how important it is to do them for yourself because it’s what you’re passionate about. She also talks about how it’s impossible to not get better if you do something all the time… which obviously got me thinking.

  1. What is it that I’m truly passionate about? This can be hard to answer when you have always just refered to yourself as ‘creative’.
  2. What skill/s do I really want to improve?
  3. How will I document my skills improving?

So… think I’ve answered all of them if you’re interested? Well you’ve got this far into my post so you must be πŸ˜‚πŸŽ‰πŸ™ŒπŸΎ

  1. I’m passionate about becoming a full-time blogger and business owner – this means working hard and making self-improvement a priority.
  2. PhotographyΒ – I need to take better photos to document my skills improving. I have definitely sinned when it comes to yellow lighting and weird angles.
  3. Instagram of course! If photography is the skill I’m improving then Instagram is definitely the platform to document growth, change and development.

You don’t NEED a fancy ass camera to be a good photographer and work on your skills either. I also take a lot of photos on my iPhone 6+. The camera is great for all of my photography needs. Following on from this point I want to show you some pictures and you can see if you can tell which images are DSLR and which images are iPhone 6+. Let me know your answers in the comments section below. ⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️

IMG_7465
Image 1
IMG_7428
Image 2
IMG_7468
Image 3

Check out my other platforms πŸ™ŒπŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎ

***GO FUND ME: https://www.gofundme.com/AfroGlory*** Please read my story and help me get my business up and running πŸ™ŒπŸΎβ€οΈ Share, Share, Share. Thank you.

Instagram: http://instagram.com/afroglory_

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AfroGlory_

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AfroGloryBlog/

Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/afroglory_/

Leave a Reply

