Afro-Vector-Illustration-Adobe-Illustrator-Peach-Pastel-Colour

I’m Going To Do It…

I haven’t mentioned this on my blog yet because I didn’t want it to become about my past but I feel like I need to add the context in order for you to understand the future I envision!

I want to be a successful young black woman with a black owned business in the United Kingdom… nothing will stop me.

I have dreams… they have been on hold since August 2014 when a friend and I were attacked in the town I grew up in.

There were 5 attackers and 1 of them broke my leg. I had to have 2 surgeries, physiotherapy and Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) to recover from the traumatic event. I was diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder… it took me 3 years to get back to a good place and here I am.

Before the attack I was SO motivated and just wanted to achieve everything. Nothing felt out of my reach. Then my self-esteem went down, I lost trust in people and the justice system (there was no conviction because the attackers all gave different accounts of what happened – therefore there was no evidence for the police to build a case)…

Its been 3 years. I am now finally at the end of therapy, I’m in an amazing place and I feel more motivated than ever to reach for my goals and not let one of lives hurdles hold me back.

Afro Glory isn’t just a blog or a variety of social media accounts. Afro Glory is my way to use my skills to better my life and empower others around me to do the same. I especially want to empower young black British people to embrace their creativity and be ambitious. I want to move forward with my life and use my (well deserved) Masters degree to start my design business…

As with most people, finances are another one of life hurdles for me. I come from a very small family (aka mum, brother & me) so I don’t have the financial support you might find in other families. Queue the internet… I have set up a go fund me account that details everything I want to do with the money, who it’s going to help and how much it means to me to turn Afro Glory into a successful business.

Please follow the link and share it on your social media accounts. I will of course keep everyone up to date with how my campaign is going.

Thanks for taking the time to read this post guys. You are cool!

https://funds.gofundme.com/dashboard/AfroGlory

Check out my other platforms πŸ™ŒπŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎ

Instagram: http://instagram.com/afroglory_

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AfroGlory_

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AfroGloryBlog/

Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/afroglory_/

Leave a Reply

